Meeting Register Page

Interactive Online Session: International Water Law and Infrastructure
In 2021, GWP and the International Water Law Academy (IWLA) of Wuhan University are co-organising an interactive online series called the "Transboundary Freshwater Security Governance Train". The series of online engagement sessions will be conducted in an approach of a ‘train’ stopping at various locations around the world, focussing on topics related to transboundary freshwater security. At each stop, a different topic from the Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) for Governance for Transboundary Freshwater Security will be explored. The fifth session is on infrastructure and the implementation of legal commitments, and it takes place on 18 May, at 11:00 am Stockholm time.

Please note: Prior to this online session, participants are encouraged to register to the Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) on Governance for Transboundary Freshwater Security, and to take a look at Module 3: International Water Law, and Module 6: Finance for Transboundary Water Security, particularly lecture 6c – Public Financing for Transboundary Projects and 6d – Private Financing for Transboundary Projects.

Water is fundamental for development, with transboundary waters acting as a natural connection between States. However, when one States seeks to develop waters it shares with another State, some impact is inevitable. The purpose of this session is to explore the different ways in which States can develop infrastructure on their transboundary waters, and to exchange experience, best practice and challenges faced regarding transboundary water development. Questions will be collected in advance (through the MOOC platform) and during the 1.5-hour-long session. Panellists will provide brief presentations and then the floor is open to questions in breakout rooms, which offers an opportunity to engage directly with regional experts.

WHEN: Tuesday, 18 May, at 05:00 (Washington DC), 06:00 (Rio de Janeiro), 10:00 (London), 11:00 (Stockholm), 11:00 (Johannesburg), 17:00 (Beijing)

May 18, 2021 11:00 AM in Stockholm

Loading
* Required information